I suck at playing grown-up.

27 Sep

For the most part, I like to consider myself a functioning adult. Sometimes barely functioning, but it still counts. But sometimes, I fail so massively at being a grown-up that I half-expect the what-the-hell-are-you-doing-with-your-life police (aka my parents) to come bursting in and insist that I go back to fourth grade. Which, in light of recent events would probably be the safest place for me.

It would seem that I have lost my goddamn social security card.

I’m trying to locate it for my new job paperwork. I remember, pre-move putting it in a safe place so that I wouldn’t lose it. I have no fucking idea where that safe place might be. It may well be in a box now hanging out in my parents’ basement (I ended up leaving a lot of stuff at their house that I didn’t mean to. Like all my refrigerator magnets.). Epic fail.

In other news, big congratulations to my pal, Jef Otte, who, while on assignment for Westword, won Denver’s Running of the Gays, a three-block charity run benefiting Art from Ashes. And he won it in a pair of very sensible heels.

The face of functional irresponsibility or, what I want to be when I grow up.

Let’s call this “thing I miss about Denver #1”.

Leave a Reply

