An ode to my brother

22 Oct

Yes, I did just do a post not so long ago about how much I adore my brother. But seriously, the kid warrants multiple posts.

Kevin finally turned 21 yesterday! And while I’m super bummed that I wasn’t there for the festivities, I do have a solemn promise from David and Ryan to take him to the Lancer Lounge in my stead.

And so, in the time-honored tradition of blogs, FB notes, MySpace posts, and email forwards, I’m celebrating my baby brother by listing 21 of my very favorite memories/things about him.

1) Kevin dyed his hair hot pink and wore rainbow tube socks on his first day of middle school just to fuck with people.

2) He can usually out-drink me at family functions.

3) He doesn’t make fun of me when I drunkenly fall off golf course curbs because I’m wearing heels at family functions.

4) He’s my dogs favorite person. So much so that sometimes she gets so excited to see him that she pees on him. And he totally puts up with it.

5) For several years, his favorite phrase was “Oppenheimer funds”. He would follow me around the house for hours repeating this over and over, and somehow, it was always hilarious.

6) My brother is fucking hilarious.

Whether that hilarity is intentional is debatable.

7) Still likes me even though I told him for years that he hatched out of a pod in the basement (our dad totally started that one).

8 ) As a toddler, his favorite toys were a red plastic hammer, vacuum cleaner attachments, and empty gallon-sized milk jugs.

9) Kevin has mad dance skillz.

10) Lurtle urtle.

11) He used to let me dress him up. He’s lucky that I don’t have any photos of this time period.

12) Kevin is wicked smart.

13) He generally makes a really good impression on everyone. Friends, family of friends, etc.

14) He cleans up nice.

Right?

15) He tells our mom about going to strip clubs on his birthday.

16) When he goes to strip clubs, strippers give him their numbers without him asking.

17) He helped me move to Washington.

18) He loves his kitty. I’m not being gross, he really loves his pet cat.

See? Not gross. Though I have no idea what's on Kitty's face...

19) He is an incredibly kind, generous person

20) He calls me for girl advice, and gives me boy advice.

21) He used to look like this:

Happy birthday baby brother! It’s been a very interesting, delightful 21 years.

5 Responses to “An ode to my brother”

  1. Kate Reed October 23, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    I love this post. I hope my kids are friends like you guys, without the shenanigans.

    • Caitlyn Cavanaugh October 23, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

      I’m not sure we’d be friends, were it not for the shenanigans.

  2. Cousin Michael October 23, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Three cheers to the birthday boy! Or should I say, birthday man?

    Kevin has developed into a laudable life-sized-person. And now that he can drink legally, we can all breathe a little easier knowing we don’t have to sneak him anything (not that we’ve had to sneak him anything for the past four or five years, but still).

    I also regret missing the festivities, but that just enables us to throw multiple follow-up fiestas in his honor. I hope he wasn’t planning on sobering up anytime soon.

  3. Cousin Michael October 23, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Oh yeah, and the following:

    21+. There is photographic evidence that he knows how to use a urinal.

    • Caitlyn Cavanaugh October 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

      I know that picture. It used to hang above my toilet in my first ever apartment. I would like it more if it were actually visible in the comments section, for all to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

