6 Mar

Me oh my this is disconcerting. I recently had to have a lady-parts procedure (I honestly can’t remember what it was called). It was traumatizing for a number of reasons, from the nurse vacantly staring at me pre-procedure and saying, “Well, since your pap came back kind of abnormal you have HPV” (this is without looking at any of my test results), to having a male gynecologist who, upon completing the exam, rather than telling me I could sit up, just leaned forward and offered me his hand. It didn’t help that he insisted on talking about the circus the whole time he was down there, either. I’ve never been comfortable with male gynecologists, and it’s a prejudice I’m comfortable hanging onto.

forwomenseyesonly

  • Hang on to your knickers and read what a Doctor has to say on the subject of pap smears and pelvic exams.  What follows is a comment from Blogcritics.org written by a Doctor that uncovers an honest and all-male point of view (Warning: may be disturbing to some readers):
    Apr 07, 2010 at 4:08 am

    Hello,

    I’ve read several of the posts here, and just wanted to get a few things off my chest . . .

    I am a doctor myself, in a smallish town in the midwest. I’m in a specialty where we do not do pelvic exams, but of course I was trained in how to do them while in medical school. It has always bothered me, for a couple of reasons, but the male/female thing has been the main thing originally. I always got a small, secret thrill out of doing a pelvic exam (or a…

View original post 1,088 more words

Leave a Reply

